Book Review : The Great Gatsby

Dishonesty in a woman is a thing you never blame deeply. (Location 666, The Great Gatsby)

“99% . Time left in book: 1 min”, bottom of my page printed. My finger went to touch the surface but something in me hesitated. Book will be finished if I will turn this page. “Oh my god! You will be alone”, that something said to me. I was so eager to complete the story that I was running an hour late for my work, but when it was on the verge of finishing I did not want it to finish. Readers irony, I guess.

Every one suspects himself of at least one of the cardinal virtues, and this is mine: I am one of the few honest people that I have ever known.(Location 677, The Great Gatsby)

I was so into the story, in to its characters that the thought of leaving them made me feel lonely. I wanted to learn more about Jay Gatsby, Daisy, Jordan Baker, Nick, Tom. But its consummated. The end.

First 20% of this book was tough read for me as I am amateur in English literature. I was about to skip this book and move to another. But when I opened my kindle that night to start another book, The Great Gatsby was open and it said to me to “Read this last page and don’t read it further if you don’t like it”. So, I read that one page and another and another…And I enjoyed it. I was trapped.

“There are only the pursued, the pursuing, the busy and the tired.”(Location 898, The Great Gatsby)

Nothing drastic happens around 50% of this book. Everything is good and usual. Then starts the story. Which made me restless. First 50% took me seven days. And remaining just two.

Classics has something in it to be classic.
I am not exaggerating but Fitzgerald is a master and use of language is exemplary.

For now, this book has my four star. I will reread this book sometime in future. To understand even more, to know things which I missed, and most importantly to live Jay’s life once again.

“One thing’s sure and nothing’s surer The rich get richer and the poor get – children.”(Location 1072, The Great Gatsby)

(On Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1496132796?book_show_action=false )

 

